top of page

New Beginnings at SAS

Updated: Mar 20, 2018

So after 25 years working in education I've finally decided its time for a career change and find myself living and working in beautiful Shropshire. And so here I am working at Shropshire Architectural Salvage with my partner and best friend Duncan who took the business over 3 years ago.

I thought my friends would think I was having a mid life crisis but everyone seems to think its a jolly good move and that being slightly quirky and bohemian I might have something to bring to the venture; after all the yard is full of the weird and wonderful heritage of Shropshire's architecture through history. I also have a passion for reusing, recycling and creating so it's not surprising that I'm like a kid in a candy shop on a daily basis.

There have been days when I've feared the loss of fingers to frostbite, found that there is something waiting to trip me up around every corner, accepted bruised shins and calloused hands are inevitable and recognised that an encounter with a spider does not mean I can vacate the area screaming (this would not be good for Duncan's nervous disposition). I have aches in places I didn't know could ache and for the first time in my life I think I may be developing some muscle; lugging a cast iron fire surround from one end of the yard to the other is a good alternative to a visit to the gym.

Should you be wondering if I'm having any kind of second thoughts.......... Meeting customers and finding out about their projects is so interesting and being able to help them find that unique finishing touch or 'Just what we were looking for" is very satisfying. Duncan is a great teacher and I'm learning all the time about the stock (and no I won't be putting that beautiful Ebony in the wood burner now). It was wonderful last week watching him hunt through a pile of cast iron hinges with a cabinet maker (by Royal Appointment) who needed medieval hinges for a door he was creating. He must be fed up with me asking "What's this?" or "What does this do?" but his patience is endless and his passion for what he does positively contagious. I've loved being a teacher but I'm loving being a student again.

This blog is also another first and I look forward to recording the journey I am embarking on. I think it's going to be quite an adventure!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page